Home »

About Us

InsideTheRockies.com was founded in February 2009 following the closure of the Rocky Mountain News by the newspaper’s baseball writers and online sports editor. The website is designed and developed by America’s Fish, LLC. Learn more about their WordPress web design and other projects.

Tracy Ringolsby has covered major league baseball since 1976, and began covering the Colorado Rockies after joining the Rocky Mountain News in the 1992 season, the year before the Rockies started play. He was selected by his peers to receive the 2005 J.G. Taylor Spink Award, which led to his enshrinement in the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y., during the 2006 ceremonies. He received the 2000 Colorado Press Association Shining Star Award, the first person from a sports department to be honored. He is a member of the Cheyenne East High School Hall of Fame and received the lifetime achievement recognition from the Wyoming Sports Hall of Fame this year. Ringolsby is a member of the executive committee of the National Western Stock Show, and a member at the benefactor level of the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. He was born in Cheyenne, Wyo., and still lives in the area with his wife and four horses.

Jack Etkin has covered major league baseball since 1981, beginning at the Kansas City Star until 1992 and the Rocky Mountain News, which he joined shortly before the Rockies’ first spring training. He has written one book, Innings Ago: Recollections by Kansas City Ballplayers of their Days in the Game. He is a native of Buffalo, N.Y., who went to Union College in Schenectady, N.Y., and has an MBA degree from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Steve Foster has worked as a sports editor and designer since 1996 at the Rocky Mountain News, Chicago Sun-Times and Longmont Daily-Times Call, and is a former member of Baseball Writers Association of America. Most recently he was an assistant sports editor for interactive at the Rocky. He was born and raised in Rapid City, S.D., and graduated from the University of South Dakota.